2019 NCSA: Developing an Assessment Credentialing System for Educators

Michigan Assessment Consortium’s Assessment Literacy Standards indicate the knowledge, performances, and dispositions assessment-literate students, educators, and policymakers possess. These standards are guiding long-term assessment learning. Some educators may seek an introductory assessment understanding; others may seek to learn more or become a certified assessment specialist. This session will describe the steps taken to implement this assessment-credentialing system for school administrators and classroom teachers. Assessment literacy activities occur at three levels: *Introductory (Level 1) – Eight online learning modules provide fundamental assessment knowledge, resulting in certificates for module completion; *Intermediate (Level 2) – Assessment topics in short courses requiring demonstration of proficiency, resulting in award of micro-credentials for courses completed; and *Advanced (Level 3) – Given a defined school/district assessment problem of practice, applicant demonstrates leadership ability in collaborative work, resulting in certification. These ideas are broadly applicable where both broad and deep assessment literacy are desired.

Presenter: Terri Portice

Reeths-Puffer Schools Director of Teaching and Learning

Presenter: Ellen Vorenkamp

Wayne RESA Assessment Consultant

Presenter: Tara Kintz

Michigan Assessment Consortium Consultant and Instructor

Presenter: Jim Gullen

Michigan Assessment Consortium Consultant

Presenter: Discussant: Ed Roeber

Michigan Assessment Consortium Assessment Director

Presenter: Moderator: Kathy Dewsbury-White

Michigan Assessment Consortium President/CEO

Upcoming Events