## **Contributors to this Guide**

## **Principal Contributor Group**

Principal Contributors brought to this project a wide range of expertise in cognitive science, educational assessment, literacy development, professional learning, and organizational development. Principal Contributors were responsible for researching, drafting, reviewing, and revising all content in this Guide. The group is chaired by Jim Pellegrino, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Education, and Co-director of the Learning Sciences Research Institute at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Jim Pellegrino (chair), Co-Director, Learning Sciences Research Institute

Brandy Bugni, Literacy Manager, Michigan Department of Education (MDE)

Eunsoo Cho, Assistant Professor, Michigan State University

Amy Colton, Executive Director, Learning Forward – MI Kathy Dewsbury-White, CEO, Michigan Assessment Consortium (MAC)

Nell K. Duke, Professor of Education; University of Michigan

Miranda Fitzgerald, Assistant Professor in Reading and Elementary Education, University of North Carolina-Charlotte

Annemarie Palinscar, Chair, Educational Studies, Professor of Education, University of Michigan

Ed Roeber, Assessment Director, MAC

Adrea Truckenmiller, Assistant Professor, Michigan State University

Melissa Usiak, Executive Director, MI-ASCD

Linda Wacyk, Communications/Publications Director, MAC

Tanya Wright, Associate Professor, Michigan State University

## **Responder Group**

Responder Group participants represent a variety of Michigan programs, organizations, and initiatives connected to Michigan's literacy initiatives. They participated in a series of webinars and meetings where they responded to concepts and text presented at various points of the Guide's development. Their thoughtful and constructive feedback is reflected throughout the final Guide. They are charged with helping to promote the use of the Guide among their colleagues and using the Guide to inform their work in their respective roles.

Rashell Bowermann, MDE

Lisa Brown, MDE

Erin Brown, Michigan Association of Intermediate School Administrators (MAISA)

Kelli Cassaday, MDE

Grant Chandler, Calhoun ISD

Steve Goodman, MIBLSI

Kristine Griffor, Troy School District

Tom Johnson, Kalamazoo RESA

Noel Kelty, MDE

Dave Krebs, MAISA

Sean LaRosa, MIBLSI

Cheyne LeVasseur, MIBLSI

Paul Liabenow, Michigan Elementary and Middle School Principals Association (MEMSPA)

Brian Lloyd, MDE

Lisa Lockman, Wexford-Missaukee ISD

Michelle McManus, MDE

Nikki Mosser, MDE

Julie Murphy, MDE

Liz Newell, MDE

Naomi Norman, Washtenaw ISD

Jen Orton, West Shore ESD

Jeannine Oynoian, Dearborn Public Schools

Sarah Scott, Calhoun ISD

Susan Townsend, MAISA

Mindy Westra, MDE

Mellissa Wilson, Wayne RESA

Kim Young, MDE

Nadra Shami, Dearborn Public School